About the Church Year

Advent: A Season of Hope

Every valley shall be lifted up and every mountain and hill be made low; The uneven ground shall become level, and the rough places a plain. And the glory of the Lord shall be revealed, and all flesh shall see it together. (Isaiah 40:4-5)

November 27 – December 18, 2016

Christmas: A Season of Wonder

The Word became flesh and dwelt among us, full of grace and truth. (John 1:14)

December 24, 2016 – January 8, 2017

The Sundays after Epiphany: A Season of Light

I will give you as a light to the nations, that my salvation may reach to the end of the earth.” (Isaiah 49:6)

January 15 – February 28, 2017

Lent: A Season of Renewal

Return to the Lord, your God, for he is gracious and merciful, slow to anger, and abounding in steadfast love. (Joel 2:13)

Ash Wednesday – March 1, 2017

The Three Days: The Paschal Mystery

We have been buried with him by baptism into death, so that, just as Christ was raised from the dead by the glory of the Father, so we too might walk in newness of life. (Romans 6:4)

Maundy Thursday, Good Friday, Saturday Vigil
April 13 – 15, 2017

Easter: A Season of Joy

“Why do you look for the living among the dead? He is not here, but has risen.” (Luke 24:5)

Easter Sunday – April 16, 2017

The Sundays after Pentecost: A Season of Growth

Speaking the truth in love, we must grow up in every way into him who is the head, into Christ. (Ephesians 4:15)

Pentecost Sunday – June 4, 2017

Season after Pentecost
June 11 – November 26, 2017