Sundays After Epiphany

What are the Sundays after the Epiphany?

  • The Sundays that follow Advent-Christmas festival cycle and take us to the beginning of the Lent-Easter cycle.

When is this season?

  • The Sundays after Epiphany follow the celebration of the Epiphany on January 6th (the end of the Christmas season) and goes until Ash Wednesday (the beginning of Lent).
  • The season varies in length from four to nine Sundays depending on the date of Easter (which determines the beginning of Lent).

What happens in the season?

  • The season is part of what is called “ordinary time” (because these Sundays are numbered).
  • The color for the season is green.
  • These days reflect the epiphany theme of Christ being revealed.

Why green?

  • Green suggests the daily growth of the life of faith.

Special days in this season

  • The season begins and ends with a festival day.
    • (Because these are feast days of our Lord, their color is white)
  • The Baptism of our Lord
    • (The first Sunday after Epiphany)
    • Jesus is baptized by John the Baptizer in the Jordan River and begins his public ministry.
    • The Spirit comes upon Jesus, like a dove fluttering down from the sky.
    • A voice from heaven (God) declares, “This is my beloved Son.”
  • The Transfiguration of our Lord
    • (The final Sunday after Epiphany)
    • Jesus takes Peter, James and John up a high mountain.
      • Like Moses and Elijah, encounters with God happen on a high mountain.
    • His appearance is transformed by the radiant presence of God.
    • Moses and Elijah appear and speak with Jesus.
      • Moses represents the Law and Elijah the prophetic writings that bear witness to Jesus.
    • A cloud overshadows them
      • As with Moses on Mount Sinai, the cloud represents God’s presence.
    • The voice from heaven again declares, “This is my beloved Son.”
    • The voice tells the disciples to listen to Jesus (and with these words we are sent into Lent, towards Jerusalem and the cross and resurrection).

< A Season of Light          (About Epiphany)          NEXT SEASON: Lent >